Bernie Taupin’s “Beyond Words” Art Show Coming to Austin

Rise painting by Bernie Taupin from prweb.com.

Rise painting by Bernie Taupin from prweb.com.

Today we’re talking about…”Beyond Words.”

The Russell Collection Art Gallery in Austin, TX, is presenting a collection of artwork created by lyricist Bernie Taupin of Bernie Taupin/Elton John fame this August.  The appropriately titled, “Beyond Words” art show, features Taupin’s work, created this time with brushes and paint and not pen and words, is contemporary in nature and like his lyrics, speaks to our emotions and minds. 

Taupin had this to say about his art in a press release:  “Canvas to me is simply the visual extension of what I have spent my life creating through words. The imagination, in my estimation, is the most powerful tool the artist possesses enabling us to conjure up beautiful distraction for the ears and eyes. I have no formula except that which comes from what I dream, feel and see. To me colors are like words…they express emotions…likewise texture and mediums display an abundance of moods.”

I do think that colors are like words and express emotions. To me, red represents passion, blue, serenity.   I do think that the way an artist uses color and texture can influence the direction of a piece.  Art is about expression and passion and it’s obvious from looking at Taupin’s work, that he possesses the imagination and skill needed to create thought-provoking and visually pleasing work. I hope this exhibit makes its way around the country.  I’d like to see it, how about you?

Leave a Reply

