Offering of the Angels: Treasures from the Uffizi Gallery at the James A. Michener Art Museum

Today our eyes are on Offering of the Angels:  Treasures from the Uffizi Gallery exhibit at the James A. Michener Art Museum in Doylestown, PA.

At this time of year, I wish that I was spending some vacation time in one of my favorite places, Florence, Italy.  Florence has some of the most beautiful collections of artwork and sculpture in the world and is home to  the Uffizi and Accademia Galleries.  I visited the Accademia both times I was in Florence to see the David sculpture by Michelangelo and I regret that I didn’t visit the Uffizi.  Although I’m not making it to Italy this summer to visit the Uffizi, I am so happy that works from the Uffizi, created between the 15th and 17th Centuries by great Renaissance artists, are now on display at the Michener Art Museum.

Curated by Antonio Natali, director of the Uffizi,  the exhibition  features oil paintings depicting scenes from the Old and New Testaments. Since the exhibit is extended through August 12th, I’m gonna try to see it for myself.  It’ll be interesting to see how each individual artist interprets and portrays the religious content.   A friend of mine saw it and said it was not to be missed.  If you’ve seen it, let us know how you liked it.

One thought on “Offering of the Angels: Treasures from the Uffizi Gallery at the James A. Michener Art Museum

Leave a Reply

