Mural Painting at Made in America

Artist Keir Johnston finishes a mural that was painted by concert attendees via paint by numbers at the Made in America festival last weekend.

Artist Keir Johnston finishes a mural that was painted by concert attendees via paint by numbers at the Made in America festival last weekend.

For “how to” Tuesday, I’d like to talk about mural painting.  Since I’ve never actually painted a mural, I’m not gonna give specific instructions on how to do that (although I am attaching a link on Steps to Making a Mural from the City of Philadelphia’s fabulous Mural Arts Program website if you’d like to paint one), I wanted to highlight a great mural I saw at the Made in the America concerts this weekend.

While walking around the concert grounds, I was drawn to a large mural that was in the process of being painted.  Artist Keir Johnston was putting the finishing touches on the mural that was painted by concert attendees via paint by numbers method earlier in the day.  The mural featured an image of Jay –Z sporting a Phillies cap on one end, Robert Indiana’s LOVE from Philly’s LOVE park fame, the number 76 as in 1776 I assume, and another performer at the other end which I think is Philly’s own Jill Scott.

I missed out on the interactive painting but loved the idea.  It reminds me of what Community Arts Center does with its Chester mural program; they get the community to collaborate, encourage people to try their hand at art, and promote positive images that foster community spirit.

Did anyone else see it and does anyone know if it will be permanently placed around Philly somewhere?

Leave a Reply

